Imran Farhat, the Pakistan batsman, has been found not guilty of breaching the ICC Code of Conduct for claiming a catch on the bounce during the ongoing Test against South Africa at Port Elizabeth.
Chris Broad, the ICC match referee, cleared him of the charge laid by the four umpires on duty, on-field officials Billy Doctrove and Peter Parker, third umpire Rudi Koertzen and fourth umpire Brian Jerling.
Farhat claimed a catch from Ashwell Prince which was referred to the third umpire because Doctrove and Parker were unsure whether the batsman had played the ball into the ground or his boot before it reached the fielder.
When Koertzen studied television replays of the incident he noticed the ball had, in fact, not carried to Farhat and when all the umpires had the chance to view the footage at close of play it was decided that a charge should be laid.
But after considering the evidence Broad decided that Farhat had no case to answer. "One of the key aspects in favour of the fielder in this instance was that no one questioned the validity of the catch at the time," said Broad. "It was only when it was referred to the third umpire that it became clear the ball had not carried.
"That ties in with my experience as a cricketer as I know it is possible to believe you have caught the ball when others may have seen it bounce beforehand.
"Bob Woolmer, the Pakistan coach, and Talit Ali, the team manager, appeared at the hearing to vouch for Farhat's good character, and Bob added that during a match in the Caribbean Imran told the umpires he was unsure whether or not a ball had reached him on the full only for replays to show he took the catch cleanly.
"Taking all these factors into account I am satisfied this was simply a case of a genuine and honest mistake by the fielder and so I found him not guilty of the charge."